Verry Elleegant - Horse Racing Tips

Melbourne Cup

Embrace the excitement, as the turf of the iconic Flemington Racecourse is set to tremble in November for Australia’s greatest horse race.

The Melbourne Cup isn’t just a race; it’s the jewel of Australia’s sporting calendar, revered globally and affectionately referred to as the ‘Race That Stops a Nation’.

With a rich history built on tales of legendary horses, seasoned jockeys, and celebrated trainers, this event is undeniably entrenched in Australian cultural heritage.

Renowned for its prestige and historical significance, the Melbourne Cup transcends the boundaries of mere horse racing, securing a spot in Australian sporting culture that captivates even the casual observer.

Prepare for the 2024 Melbourne Cup with Betseeker’s expert tips, insights, predictions and guidance for Australia’s biggest race day.

Melbourne Cup Facts

LocationFlemington Racecourse, Melbourne
Conditions3yo+ Handicap
Most Recent WinnerGold Trip

Melbourne Cup 2024 Tips

Back a winner on Melbourne Cup Day with Betseeker’s expert horse racing tips. Our seasoned racing tipsters and analysts have you covered with best bets, quaddie tips, and same race multi picks for every event on Australia’s premier racing day.

Best Bet


Value Bet


More Racing Tips

Betseeker is the home of fast, free racing tips! Check out more racing tips from our expert racing tipsters now.

Melbourne Cup FAQs

What time is Melbourne Cup 2024?

The Melbourne Cup usually starts at 3:00 PM local time on the first Tuesday in November.

How can I watch the 2024 Melbourne Cup?

To watch the Melbourne Cup, you have a few options:
– Television: In Australia, you can watch the Melbourne Cup on free-to-air television. It’s typically broadcast on channels like Channel 10. If you’re in another country, check with local sports or horse racing channels for coverage.
– Online Streaming: Many broadcasters now offer live streaming options on their websites or mobile apps. You can check if the official Melbourne Cup website provides a live stream or look for streaming options on sports streaming platforms.
– Betting Websites: Some betting websites provide live streaming of the Melbourne Cup to their registered users. However, this might be limited to certain regions and may require you to have a betting account.

How do you choose the winner of the Melbourne Cup?

To choose a Melbourne Cup winner, consider the horse’s recent form, jockey and trainer reputation, weight, barrier draw, track conditions, and historical trends. Betting odds and personal instincts also play a role, but horse racing remains unpredictable.

Do favourites usually win the Melbourne Cup?

Favourites in the Melbourne Cup don’t always win. Upsets and surprise winners are common due to the race’s competitiveness and various influencing factors. Betting on the favourite is not a guaranteed win.

Who is the most successful Melbourne Cup jockey?

The most successful Melbourne Cup jockey was Harry White who won the Melbourne Cup a record 4 times in the 1970s.

Who is the most successful Melbourne Cup jockey?

The most successful Melbourne Cup trainer was Bart Cummings. He was widely regarded as the “Cups King” and had trained 12 Melbourne Cup winners during his illustrious career. Bart Cummings’ Melbourne Cup victories spanned several decades, and he remains one of the most iconic figures in Australian horse racing.

Who is the most successful Melbourne Cup trainer?

The most successful Melbourne Cup trainer was Bart Cummings. He was widely regarded as the “Cups King” and had trained 12 Melbourne Cup winners during his illustrious career. Bart Cummings’ Melbourne Cup victories spanned several decades, and he remains one of the most iconic figures in Australian horse racing.

Which barrier has won the most at the Melbourne Cup?

Horses starting from Barrier 5 had historically won the Melbourne Cup the most times with eight wins.

Which horse has won the most Melbourne Cups?

The horse with the record for the most Melbourne Cup wins is “Makybe Diva who won the Melbourne Cup three times consecutively in 2003, 2004, and 2005. This achievement is considered one of the greatest in the history of the Melbourne Cup and Australian horse racing.

How long is the Melbourne Cup race in minutes?

The Melbourne Cup race typically lasts for around 3 to 3.5 minutes. The race covers a distance of 3200 meters (approximately 2 miles), and the winning horse usually completes this distance in about 3 to 3.5 minutes, depending on the track conditions and the pace of the race. It’s a thrilling and fast-paced event that captivates horse racing enthusiasts worldwide.

How many horses run in the Melbourne Cup?

The field size for the Melbourne Cup can vary from year to year, but the maximum number of horses allowed to run in the Melbourne Cup is 24. The final lineup of horses is determined by a ballot process that considers various factors, including a horse’s weight, handicap, and performance in lead-up races. Many more horses may nominate for the race, but only the top 24, based on the conditions set for that year’s race, will actually compete in the Melbourne Cup.

Melbourne Cup 2023 Results

13WITHOUT A FIGHT (IRE)Anthony & Sam FreedmanMark Zahra01656.58.00
26SOULCOMBE (GB)Chris WallerJoao Moreira2.25453.59.50
314SHERAZ (FR)Chris WallerBeau Mertens2.752251.5151.00
411ASHRUN (FR)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceKerrin McEvoy4.751151.526.00
512DAQIANSWEET JUNIOR (NZ)Phillip StokesDaniel Stackhouse4.951251.551.00
622INTERPRETATION (IRE)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceTeo Nugent5.35175041.00
77ABSURDE (FR)Willie MullinsZac Purton5.458539.00
824TRUE MARVEL (FR)Matthew SmithBen Thompson6.71050151.00
99VOW AND DECLAREDanny O’BrienBilly Egan7.45195331.00
1017MILITARY MISSION (IRE)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottMs Rachel King8.255126.00
1113OKITA SOUSHI (IRE)Joseph O’BrienDylan Gibbons (a)8.42051.5101.00
1220MORE FELONS (IRE)Chris WallerMs Jamie Kah9.152350.526.00
1315LASTOTCHKA (FR)Mick Price & Michael Kent (Jnr)Craig Williams13.15215126.00
145VAUBAN (FR)Willie MullinsRyan Moore13.353555.50
1521FUTURE HISTORY (GB)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceHollie Doyle14.1135018.00
164BREAKUP (JPN)Tatsuya YoshiokaKohei Matsuyama14.3185518.00
171GOLD TRIP (FR)Ciaron Maher & David EustaceJames McDonald23.3258.56.50
1819VIRTUOUS CIRCLE (NZ)Liam HowleyCraig Newitt32.3651151.00
1918SERPENTINE (IRE)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian BottJye McNeil32.415141.00
2023KALAPOUR (IRE)Kris LeesZac Lloyd (a)32.7145041.00
212ALENQUER (FR)Michael MoroneyDamien Oliver33.45956.521.00
2216MAGICAL LAGOON (IRE)Chris WallerMark Du Plessis43.45751101.00
238RIGHT YOU ARECiaron Maher & David EustaceJohn Allen0155331.00

Melbourne Cup Previous Winners

Here’s a list of the most recent Melbourne Cup winners, a journey through time celebrating the champions who have left their mark on Australia’s most prestigious horse race.

For more, here is a list of all previous Melbourne Cup winners.

2023Without A FightMark ZahraA & S FreedmanGelding7 years56.6 kgs
2022Gold TripMark ZahraCiaron Maher & David EustaceHorse6 Years57.5 kgs
2021Verry ElleegantJames McDonaldChris WallerMare6 Years57 kgs
2020Twilight PaymentJye McNeilJoseph O’BrienGelding8 Years55.5 kgs
2019Vow And DeclareCraig WilliamsDanny O’BrienGelding4 Years52 kgs
2018Cross CounterKerrin McEvoyCharlie ApplebyGelding4 Years51 kgs
2017RekindlingCorey BrownJoseph O’BrienStallion4 Years51.5 kgs
2016AlmandinKerrin McEvoyRobert HickmottGelding7 Years52 kgs
2015Prince of PenzanceMichelle PayneDarren WeirGelding6 Years53 kgs
2014ProtectionistRyan MooreAndreas WohlerStallion5 Years56.5 kgs
2013FiorenteDamien OliverGai WaterhouseStallion6 Years55 kgs

Learn more about the Melbourne Cup

Be sure to check out Betseeker’s daily racing tips for the Melbourne Cup and all the key lead up races to the big race.